Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SQL Duplicate entries problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

dave3944

Programmer
Oct 3, 2011
US
I am trying to populate an AS400 database with 11 fields. I am receiving a "duplicate entries" error. I would expect this, but I need a way to work around it. For instance, a single part number may have up to 5 or 6 different price codes depending on which customer is making the purchase. So, it is necessary to have the part number listed multiple times, but with different pricing codes. Here's what I have been trying so far (remember I'm a SQL newbie). INSERT INTO WEBPRDDT1.WBMSCUR (SPPTNO, SPDESC, SPLDTM, SPCATG, SPPRC1, SPPRC2, SPPRC3, SPPMBQ, SPDATE, SPATA, SPUSER) VALUES ('3408320018','PLASTIC SCREW','035','','0.25','0.23','0.18','0','50812','UAE','DWD') WHERE SPATA='UAE';
If I don't use the "WHERE", I get the "duplicate entries" error. If I DO use the "Where" statement, it tells me that WHERE was not expected. What am I doing wrong?
I'm using Excel 2007 (Microsoft Query) with an ODBC connection to a DB2 AS400 server database.
I want to be able to look at the parts in the database and, if a few key fields are the same (and the pricing code for that part already exists in the database), then update with the changes. If the part number is the same, but the pricing code field does NOT exist, I want it to insert a new entry, and copy all the matching information, with the new pricing code. How can I do this?

Hi Dave,
You need to do this in some sort of programming language or alternatively, in two stages. I don't think you can issue one piece of SQL that will do everything in one hit.