Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SQL Compound Select Problem 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjc3397

Programmer
Dec 21, 2003
US
I am trying to pull License Types By County by having the user type the License Type and County in using @Type1, @Type2, @Type3 and @County1, @County2, and @County3 as an example and pull all of the data from the Table for a certain County and Type. I believe that a Select within a Select would be needed, but I do not know how to write the code to do this. I am new to SQL and I am knowledegeable about simple select statements from and where and having, but this is a complex view to set up because when I try to enter parameters in for Types 010, 011, 020. I get all counties. I want the user to select which county they want data for by the type 010, 011, and 020. I other words, I need data for County 01 if the user has entered 01 for County Parameter for the types entered in as @Type1, @Type2, and @Type3 and so on.

Please help.

jjc3397

Select *
from table1
where
Code:
'010' in (@Type1, @type2, @type3)
or
Code:
'010' in (Select Types from TypesTable where state = 'WA')
or
Code:
'010' EXISTS(Select Types from TypesTable where state = 'WA')

-The answer to your problem may not be the answer to your question.

If I understand you correctly you need records from your table where Country = @County1 and Type = @Type1 or Type = @Type1 or Type = @Type3? Did something like this help:
Code:
SELECT *
       FROM YourTable
       WHERE Country = @County1 AND 
             Type IN (@Type1, @Type2, @Type3)
?
(here I assumed that all types have values)

Borislav Borissov
VFP9 SP1, SQL Server 2000/2005.
MVP VFP

Something like this maybe?

Code: