Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SQL Calculations, Percentages, & Averages

Status
Not open for further replies.

RaceStats

IS-IT--Management
Nov 10, 2006
US
I'm new to SQL and need some advice on performing various calculations. If someone could point me down the right path to get information on how to do these things I would appreciate it.

I'm trying to create a Racing Statistical Program. You can see thread "Selecting data with criteria from 3 or 4 tables thread 181-1301486" to see the beginning of creating a basic record set for the project.

I'm able to pull the records from an Access DB that I need but I don't know how to manipulate them. I've created a recordset that has basic calculations in it (SUM, AVG, COUNT, Etc.). The next step is that I need to do some more complicated calculations.

Here would be a recordset.

DriverName
TotalPoints - SUM(Results.ResultsPoints)
TotalStarts - COUNT(Results.ResultsPoints)
AvgPoints - AVG(Results.ResultsPoints)
High - MIN(Results.ResultsFinish)
AvgStart - AVG(Results.ResultsStart)
AvgFinish - AVG(Results.ResultsFinish)
TotalLaps - SUM(Events.EventLaps)
LapsComplete - SUM(Results.ResultsLapsComplete)
%LapsComplete - Calculate using prev. columns
AvgLast3
AvgLast4
AvgLast6
AvgLast8
HOT6
HOT8

One of the things that I need to calculate are averages at intervals. At a minimum I need to average out the points earned (per driver) over the last 3 races, 4 races, 6, & 8 races.

From there I then need to use those averages and perform some calculations on them. (They are so easy to do in Excel). Here are the basic calculations that I need to perform.

Delta-1 = Avg Past 6 - Season Average
Delta-2 = Avg Past 3 - Avg Past 6