Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SQL Backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

clytwyn

IS-IT--Management
Jun 4, 2002
CA
Good morning,

I'm a total rookie when it comes to SQL. But I've been assigned the task of backing it up. After talking to many people and searching on websites I've gotten lots of suggestions. I'm unsure which may be the best solution for our company. As of right now I'm leaning towards this solution. I was told to do a backup of the database to a virtual device/folder and then back that dump file up onto tape either using Veritas or the microsoft backup software. And I should also backup the transaction logs. and if I should need to restore the backup then I would restore the backup to the virtual device/folder and then import that dump file into the database. What I don't understand is why not just backup the database to tape and call it a day. Why all the extra work with the virtual device? I also own Veritas 9.1 with the sql open agent. But I was told it was a hog on resources. All though are backup would only be run at night so not really an issue.

Thanks for your responses. Much appreciated.

Your solution sounds perfectly reasonable for your situation where presumably nothing much is going on at night. If in addition, you database isn't very big and I'm betting it isn't because they have entrusted a "total rookie" (as you say) to the task, then consider using my technique that bypasses the tape nuisance.