Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Splitting Access database & form ( Using Database Splitter) _ PL Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

NoviceITGuy

IS-IT--Management
Feb 9, 2003
US
I am new to IT & I had created forms and tables for a Database, there are 5 forms over all , each relating to a table, basically its just a data entry form. Now I have got to place each of these forms in seperate workstations and the database will be placed in the server, so that the forms can access the database via network. Some Access Experts in this forum had given me a suggestion to use the database splitter , that way the form and the database can be seperated and thus act as client & server.

I tried the splitting a test database and was not able to understand anything. It created some database called Tester_be and I was not able to find the form it had split. Can any expert here explain the process. On how to split and what to look for after splitting process is complete...
Thank you for your help and have a nice day.

Ok here is what I know. The file that you did the split on I take it was Tester. Ok now what happens when you split the DB the file you split (Tester) will have the forms, queries, reports and macros. The Tester_be is the Back End or where the data is stored, you should see only tables. It stores just data. This would be considered the the Server and the other would be the Client.

I hope this helps.

James
paveway@earthlink.net