Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Speeding up a Ranking Formula

Status
Not open for further replies.

TJVFree

Technical User
Nov 22, 2010
US
Does anyone know how I can speed up a Ranking query? I’m currently using the formula below:

Rank: (Select count(*) from qryCustomerTotals1 as B where qryCustomerTotals1.CustomerTotal > B.customerTotal)

From reading on the web, some people talk about doing it in a modules, they even give some examples (see below)

I’m just learning access, and have come a long way with all your help. I sure could use some advice with this one.

I don’t even one where to begin putting together the code below.

Thanks for taking the time to help a new access guy.
Code:
The complete code is:

Option Compare Database
Dim lngLastPoints As Long
Dim lngLastRank As Long
Dim lngRankInc As Long

Function RankFunction(lngPoints As Long) As Long

lngLastPoints = 0

If lngLastPoints = lngPoints Then
   RankFunction = lngLastRank
    lngRankInc = lngRankInc + 1
    lngLastPoints = lngPoints
Else
     lngRankInc = lngRankInc + 1
     RankFunction = lngRankInc
     lngLastRank = lngRankInc
     lngLastPoints = lngPoints
End If
End Function

99% of the time a sql query is faster (and often orders of magnitude faster) than writing a function. Is this query really that slow? More likely you need to look at the query and try to figure out how to make it faster. This is a subquery so is it the subquery that is slow or the rest of the query? Is it the subquery or is it the query qryCustomerTotals1?

if you had to build a function it would work like this.

... select getRank([somePKfield]) as Rank ...

public function getRank(PK as variant) as long
dim rs as dao.recordset