Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Space limit on /home ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

prfoxx

IS-IT--Management
Sep 29, 2000
US
I am pretty new to linux. I have installed RedHat 6.2 on a 450HHZ Pentium box with a 12 gig drive. I set it up as a secure ftp server. Each ftp user has a normal user account and password. Their /home/ftp/User directory contains a /ToUs and /FromUs directory. One of the users insists that when they already have a lot of large files uploaded, they are unable upload more as though there is some sort of space limitation per /home/... directory. The only thing I have found in Linuxconf that seems like it might be relevant is the Creation permissions in the directories tab of the Group specification screen. So I changed it from 700 to 10000 for the ftp group. This had no effect. Is there a default limit on file space for home directories or something of the sort? What else could be causing this? Is the user nuts? [sig][/sig]

Hi,

Firstly, put the permissions back to 700 or as this has nothing to do with it.

It sounds like you may have quotas set up on your filesystems, to check this type 'repquota -a' in a shel (you must be logged in as root, you should see something like this....
Code:
# repquota -a
                                Block limits               File limits
        User            used    soft    hard  grace    used  soft  hard  grace
        root      --  175419       0       0          14679     0     0
        bin       --   18000       0       0            735     0     0
        uucp      --     729       0       0             23     0     0
        man       --      57       0       0             10     0     0