Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Sorting Datagrid without going back to database

Status
Not open for further replies.

babsjoy

Programmer
Sep 1, 2003
US
I am new to VB.NET. I am working with VS 2003.
My issue is that I want to sort the current binded datagrid without going back to the database to obtain the records based on the new sort criteria selected by the user.
Upon intially loading the datagrid was binded using a collection.
Public Class NewCompCollection
Inherits ArrayList
End Class

I have been researching and all documentation refers to datasets or dataviews or going back to the database to resort the data. Can I re-sort the datagrid as I am trying to do below or is more complicated since a collection was used to bind the datagrid. See code below.

ON PAGE LOAD:

Private Function getRecords() As Boolean
Dim NewCollection As NewCompCollection
Dim NewCompRec As New NewCompClass
Dim i As Integer

Try
' get records from Oracle db
NewCollection = NewCompClass.GetRecords()

dgTravel.DataSource = NewCollection
dgTravel.DataBind()
Session("NewCompCol") = NewCollection

Catch ex As Exception
Throw ex
End Try
End Function

HTML DATAGRID CONTAINS:

OnSortCommand="dgTravel_SortCommand"

VB PROCEDURE:

Public Sub dgTravel_SortCommand(ByVal source As Object, ByVal e As System.Web.UI.WebControls.DataGridSortCommandEventArgs) Handles dgTravel.SortCommand

' Extract current sort column and order.
Dim currSortExpr As String = dgTravel.Attributes("SortExpr")
Dim newSortExpr As String = e.SortExpression

' If the sort expression is the same as the current 'one,just reverse the direction.

If Not (currSortExpr Is Nothing) AndAlso currSortExpr.ToString = _
e.SortExpression Then