Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Sorting database by datetime date

Status
Not open for further replies.

NateBOIT

Technical User
Oct 4, 2006
US
Hi. I have never used ASP before, but I have been given the task of creating a ASP Web interface to display the results of a database query. I need to have a form that allows the user to sort the results by date range. The database has the date and time stored in a 'datetime' data type field called "eventtime".

The first thing i need to do is create a variable, lets say "eventdate", that takes just the date out of the datetime field so i can compare it to the user input dates. However, i assume i need to somehow do this after i make the 'rs' connection to the database, but before i construct and execute the query.

I then need to have the form i create post the user date values into variables that i can also use in the query. Let's say "startdate" and "enddate". Should i use POST or GET to retrieve the the user input?

I then need to construct a query with all variables in it that searches for the correct date range. Something like:
Code:
"select * from table where" & eventdate & ">" & startdate & " and " & eventdate & "<" & enddate & ";"

I'm sure my syntax might be a little off, but please correct it as you see fit.

Also, a simple bounds checking procedure would be nice to make sure the user actually entered a date.

Any help with any and all of this would be greatly appreciated.

Dates have always been a problem because there is no standard storage for dates. Easiest way is to pass the date as a string and use the 'd' value as described in
Another simplification, you can use the between clause. Basically
Code: