Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SonicWall VPN - newbie question,,,

Status
Not open for further replies.

mucous

Technical User
Nov 28, 2002
US
Hi,

We're working on rolling out a VPN for a few mobile users in our office. I'm pretty new to VPN and am having a few issues getting things to work right and could use a helpful nudge or two getting this up and running.

We've got a SonicWall Pro 230 firewall and run Win2K server and Professional on the laptops.

I've got the SonicWall VPN client installed on the laptops and can establish a connection. I've also installed and setup routing and remote access on our server. I've created the virtual adapter on each client and can authenticate with the server, but not browse the network.

When I had ONLY the SonicWall VPN client installled, I could establish a connection and ping/trace all the servers on the network. Still couldn't browse.

I then installed the microsoft virtual VPN adapter, was able to authenticate and connect, but can no longer ping/trace any servers. I still cannot browse any folders/shares.

As I mentioned, I'm new to VPN and would appreciate any advice, suggestions on what I'm missing here. Seems like it's something small I'm overlooking, but I don't know where to look.

Thanks for any help!

Anyone?

Maybe a few basic questions...

As I mentioned, the SonicWall client connects. I'm guessing that it's only establishing a connection to the firewall and not the network. At least, that's how it appears. The client installed a network adapter also, but it seems to be pulling an IP that I have no clue where it comes from. I can't get it to authenticate or browse the network.