Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Software (VM Ware) and Hardware recommendation needed 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

thisisboni

Programmer
Jun 1, 2006
US
Hi:

I need to build a test server (Windows server 2008/2003) with Windows AD on it. SQL Server 2008 will also need to reside in that server.

since the main purpose for this is test / education I am looking to use the same box as a windows 7 desktop using some virtualization (VMWare etc...)

I'm looking for some suggestions in terms of
(1) Hardware - what configuration (any brand Dell, HP etc...) I should go for
(2) Which VMWare product should I get (I am a novice in virtualization !!)
(3) what should the order of installs be (i) Server (ii) VMWare (iii) Windows 7

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

Will you be sitting at this machine and using it, or will you be connecting to it from your normal machine? The following assumes the former.

Personally, if I was using it for desktop duties with the server stuff for learning/testing, I'd install Windows 7 on it as the 'real' OS so it could take full advantage of things like the graphics hardware and use Windows 7's fancy transparency settings. I'd then install Oracle's VirtualBox (the old link doesn't seem to be working at the moment) and set up my virtual servers under that.

VirtualBox (or Windows Virtual PC) is more lightweight and easier to set up than VMWare's offerings, not to mention much easier to download. You have to jump through a lot of registration hoops to download VMWare.