Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

So Many Phone Manufacturers.. How do you service it all? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 24, 2007
US
There has to be several dozen different brands of PBXs and Key Systems... How do you service systems you are unfamiliar with? I figure there's only so many things a phone system can do and I figure that every manufacturer implements the same features, more or less.

For example, I was in a wiring closet the other day and they had a NEC PBX. I have no experience with NEC but it shouldn't be rocket science, it's is a phone system and all phone systems have various features and can be configured by a human.

How do you guys configure systems you are unfamiliar with? Do you search for product documentation and take some time and "ramp up" on that particular model? Is there a CD or library somewhere with all product documentation.

I'm very interested in how you guys handle this. Thanks in advance!

I usually do not touch a system that i am not familiar with. i would try and become a vendor for the particular brand before i work on it. If you go in and start playing with a system you dont know and you mess it up then the customer calls the manufacturer and they ask who was working on it and they say joe blow the manufacturer says they are not supposed to work on the system your warranty is now void and you have to pay for support.