Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Sniffer 4.1/4.1.R2 newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lbello

MIS
Feb 28, 2004
US
I inherited my former colleges’ responsibilities and was volunteered, at gun point, to configure NAI Sniffer Ethernet & Gigabit Console 4.1 and WAM Console 4.1.R2. It’s installed on Windows 2K Pro SP4 workstation. When I try to add an Agent I get the following error message; The Reporter Agent is not running. Please check whether the Agent Machine is logged in. In another instance I get a 462 error message. Now, as the subject indicates, I’m a newbie with no knowledge of Sniffer and because somewhere in my job description the letter I.T. appears I am now an expert in anything related to the field.

Other than a laud cry for help, how can I configure the consoles to work or am I missing pieces to the puzzle?

Thank,

-Lbello

So you are installing a Distributed Sniffview Console on a Win2K Pro PC and you are trying to connect to an Ethernet and gigabit and WAN Sniffer agent?
Check on the agents itself if the reporter agent is started (icon system tray.

Second error 462 has to do with Sniffer Reporter.
Normally a delete of the data.mdb file and a restart of Reporter will solve this error.

Make sure you are running the same version on consoles and agent.

I will chime in and respectfully suggest that if you still have a maintenance/support contract for this product (check with your peers or with NAI - there should be a six digit grant number floatina round somewhere).... it's worth the effort upgrade to v4.2 r3