Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Snapview & Admsnap

Status
Not open for further replies.

jafo45

MIS
Apr 14, 2004
US
I'm new to the EMC SAN enviorment. Could anyone answer this question? In order to backup a LUN, I would need Snapview to create my clone. Do I also need to use Admsnap utility as well to perform a backup. If so, what does this utility do that Snapview cannot.

Thanks
Wayne

This depends on what you are using for Backup Software. You can create a script that will fire off as a pre-job command to do the split and then reattach with a post-job script.

Basicly is this what takes place...

If I use Backup Exec 9.0 for example, I would run a script using Admsnap CLI that would split the connection between the host LUN and the clone LUN, map a drive and then backup the clone LUN.

Does the connection between LUN's have to be removed before the backup takes place?

The steps are the following in order to get backup from snapshots/BCVs:

1. Freeze the source LUN (hot bakcup in oracle, etc.), sync 3 times (unix)
2. Fracture/snapshot
3. make snapshot available for secundary host, BCV is available since this is in a storage group
4. mount the LUN in the secundary host
5. backup target LUN (snapshot/BCV)

"admsnap" is a utility to make the step 1 and 2 easy for you, it freezes the LUN, make the sync (dump cache data to disks) and take the snapshot/fracture the BCV. With snapview by itself you need to do it via scripts.

Thanks,

Is admsnap a CLI or GUI or both.

Wayne

as comtec17 states, it is only CLI, this is for scripting...

Can anyone post the exact commands to execute the steps mentioned above? I'm getting lost in the Navicli.exe Navicli.jar and Admsnap.exe commands.