Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SMS page 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrdev

Programmer
Mar 25, 2001
NL
Hello,

This has not really to do with HTML, but I couldn't thought of a better forum then HTML. If I'm wrong, I don't blame you telling me.

My question is: How can I send a "blank" SMS to a phone from my website. Without commerce in the message. You know what I mean? And I can't have a phone connected on my pc, so It has to be on a gateway or something. I'm new in this, so help me out!!

I think Europeans can give me a hand here, because Americans are not very familiar with SMS (short message service) i heard (HEARD, i don't know if it's true, but that isn't my discussion).

Greetings

Mr. Dev

I would think some third party would get involved so they could blast a load of crap along with your message... oph but its free!

Hello,

well that is what I meant. Because I can't use a phone on my computer I have to use a third party. But where can I find a third party?? It has to be:

* Free, I don't want to pay for it
* It has a possibilty to send it from a homepage, I want my visiters to sms from my page
* It has no advertising in the message, e.g. MTNSMS or Lycos has advertising in their messages

I know that's hard, but that's why I'm asking here. So please send no reply's like: "Well search the web". Because you don't have to think I have not. And also don't say: "Well look harder".

For those who can help me, THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

greetz,

Mr. Dev

as far as i know, you actually need to go thru that 3rd party, rent a special modem ... kind of expensive if it's only for personnal use