Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

'Smart Host' configuration of SendMail??

Status
Not open for further replies.

hskr4evr

Technical User
Sep 17, 2002
US
Hello.

My internal network consists of prviate IP addresses (192.168.0.0) and is protected by a Cisco firewall.

My ISP doesn't provide a 'smart host' for me to use for email nor does my Cisco firewall provide that function.

I was told I need to install Linux onto a machine and configure it to be a 'smart host' for my network.

This is my first attempt at Linux.

Does this Linux server need to sit outside my firewall and configured with one of my public IP addresses??? If so, how do I protect this Linux box from being hacked or used as a SPAM relay???

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you...

Hello,

I think that you are confusing different things.

The first thing is to tell you that if you have your email server outside the firewall with only the smtp service available is the same as having it after the firewall with a rule that allows SMTP traffic (port 25). Anyway, is usual to have more services than one available on the server, so firewalling is recommended (for example you may have SMTP and POP3 available, but you want to allow POP3 only for the LAN,....)

The mail server needs a real IP (both for the outgoing and incomming mail) so if you put the server behind the firewall, you have to choices: have the real IP on the server and filter it with the firewall or use the filtering in conjunction of NAT (Network Address Translation).