Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Slow NetWare backups

Status
Not open for further replies.

TexExpat

MIS
Jun 14, 2002
US
I am fairly new to NetWorker, and I am trying to add a NetWare server to the clients I am backing up. I am currently working in a test environment prior to using my production NetWorker server to backup production NetWare servers.

The NetWare server seems to be getting backed up, but incredibly slowly. The NT server I am backing up in this same test environment backs up at around 1800 KB/sec, but NetWorker is backing up the NetWare server at only about 128-154 KB/sec. Why am I seeing such a great difference when backing up NetWare? I am using NetWorker 6.1.1 build 238 running on NT4, SP6a. For the client, I am using NetWorker ClientPak 4.2 for NetWare. Is there something else I need to configure for backing up NetWare?

Thank you very much for your help.

Hi,

be sure to use the latest NetWare Client, version 4.21 from March this year.
You also can configure the rpcnet.cfg, which is located in sys:\nsr (default directory by installation). Configure as described in the file.
By the way which version of NetWare are you running and which patch level? Which protocol are you using?

Stefan

Thank you very much for your reply.

I am still having problems, although I found a misconfigured NIC that seems to have accounted for my very slow traffic. My problem now is that the NetWare server seems to lock up after the NetWorker backup job has been running for a while. I will start a new thread about that; I would be grateful if you have any suggestions.

I believe I am using the client 4.21; most of the .NLM files in the SYS:\NSR\BIN folder are dated 3/1/02.