Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Sites and Services Subnet Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

tcambridge

IS-IT--Management
Apr 18, 2003
US
Hello,

I have a question on subnets for Sites and Services. We have a huge enterprise forest with lots of sites and DCs. I have been given three IP address ranges for our site:

128.28.X.X
128.29.X.X
128.30.X.X

As a local system admin, I have subnetted those three ranges based on our needs. Our two local domain controllers reside in the 128.30 (10.10 and 10.11) network on a subnetted VLAN. Our users are split between the 128.28 and 128.30 networks, also subnetted VLANs.

When I ping the domain (first.test.run.com) from any system on the 128.30.X.X (same and different VLANs), I get our local domain controllers, which is the way it should be. However, when I ping the domain from any system on the 128.28 or 128.29 networks, it resolves to random domain controllers not in our site and definitely further away than our own local DCs.

In Sites and Services (which I do not have control of) our IP address ranges are listed as:

128.28.0.0/23
128.30.0.0/24

My question is would the /23 mask as listed in Sites and Services be causing the issue? If not, what could possibly be the problem and subsequent resolution?

Thanks in advance...

Tim
Certified AND Qualified
[thumbsup2]

For one, you are using Public IP (128.x.x.x) range for internal LAN. Your domain is trying to resolve those unanswered/unconfigured IP's by going to the internet DNS servers for resolutions.