Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SIP Setup Question 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cg11

MIS
Dec 8, 2004
US
I am somewhat new to SIP and have basic questions.

System is IP500v2 R9.0.3.16 with VCM64, 32 SIP trunk licenses. System is part of 2 site SCN. We intend to program LAN2 for SIP traffic. LAN2 is currently setup for 3 remote phones that work perfectly. Customer wants to use SIP trunks as failover when main PRIs are down (carrier will do this automatically).

The SIP provider is Level 3 and has given me 4 IP Addresses:

CPE IP 108.x.x.x.
Signaling IP 4.x.x.x
RTP IP 4.y.y.y
Pingable 4.z.z.z

Questions:

1) Which one of the above IP addresses do I use for the ITSP Domain Name entry?
2) I do not see a place in Manager to enter the other IP adresses (i.e. RTP IP address and Signaling address).

I did acquire and followed the Application notes for configuring Level3 SIP trunking with IPO R8.1. I was told that Level3 uses SBCs in their network.

1) Try Signaling IP 4.x.x.x. Make sure you have an ip route

2) use an ip route to your signalling gateway as the default gateway.
rtp 4.x.x.x. destination/ 255.255.255.0/ signalling ip gateway

Punjab Power. Lighting up your life.

Level 3 will walk you through the setup process.
There's also a guide on the avaya support site.

Thank you guys.

holdmusic34: I have tried using the SIP signaling IP address with no luck.

rdoubrave: I also have a 37 page Application Notes doc for configuring SIP on IPO R8.1. This doc is not accurate as I found that Level has 3 different implementations of SIP (dependent on which company they purchased in the past).