Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Single Frame Auto Refresh

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcelligott

Programmer
Apr 17, 2002
US
Hello all,

I am attempting to do something I have never done before and was wondering if any of you wonderful people had some suggestions. Here is what I am trying to do; the employees are looking at their work schedule for that shift in a web browser which auto refreshes every 60 seconds (yes, we make changes to the schedules frequently), but it goes back to the first page every refresh. I would like to set it up so they can choose which page they want to continuously view but still get refreshed without jumping back to the first page.

Here is the code I have so far:
Schedules.htm
Code:
<HTML>

<meta HTTP-EQUIV="Refresh" CONTENT="15;url="C:\Test\schedules.htm" TARGET="showframe">

<HEAD>

<TITLE>ECD Shift Schedule</TITLE>

</HEAD>

<frameset cols="100,*">
	<frame Name="Menu" src="C:\Test\menu.htm" scrolling="no">
	<frame Name="Showframe">
</frameset>

</HTML>

Menu.htm
Code:
<a href ="C:\Test\Current Schedule\TCC-Fire.mht" target ="showframe">TCC-Fire</a><br>
<a href ="C:\Test\Current Schedule\Police.mht" target ="showframe">Police</a><br>

The two files above are generated by Microsoft Excel as single file web pages automatically when the Supervisor clicks the save button.

Everything works pretty well except for the fact that the "showframe" frame keeps going back to "TCC-Fire.mht". A bit annoying if you need to continuously monitor the "Police.mht" schedule for updates.

Any suggestions?

Hi

mcelligott said:
Any suggestions?
Yes. Either
[ul]