Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Simple Store Procedure to delete rows in SQL Server 2014

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sep 22, 2013
US
Hello,

I want to create a store procedure, which I have never done before and intimidating. I want to delete all the rows in a table my coding will be below

USE [ATAS00_app]
GO
SET ANSI_NULLS ON
GO
SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON
GO

--Delete rows in General Ledger table

DELETE dbo.GLDetl

Do I need to add/code anything else will the table be close automatically? Do I have to worry about anything maintenance on the table? Thank you in advance

First of all you don't open and close tables.

To create a stored procedure you'll need a CREATE PROCEDURE Script, but for a simple DELETE you don't need a stored procedure, execute the DELETE as direct adhoc command is fast enough. The opinions differ, some do all things in stored proc, so it's your choice.

You start the SSMS, connect to your SQL server, expand Databases->ATAS00_app->Programmability. You right click on the Stored Procedures node and select the item "New Stored Procedure"

This'll give you this skeleton of code:

Code:
-- ================================================
-- Template generated from Template Explorer using:
-- Create Procedure (New Menu).SQL
--
-- Use the Specify Values for Template Parameters 
-- command (Ctrl-Shift-M) to fill in the parameter 
-- values below.
--
-- This block of comments will not be included in
-- the definition of the procedure.
-- ================================================
SET ANSI_NULLS ON
GO
SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON
GO
-- =============================================
-- Author:		<Author,,Name>
-- Create date: <Create Date,,>