Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Simple Select using variable 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

SQLWilts

Programmer
Feb 12, 2001
GB
Hiya,
I am a complete newbie at this, but I am a programmer. I simply cannot understand what I am doing wrong and I am hoping that one of you can sort me out very quickly.
I have a date on a table called History in a 10 character varchar field called date (I know, I know, poor design - not my doing I hasten to add!). I need to delete all rows from that table over 7 days old. I am trying to use this code:

/Code
DECLARE @MyDate DateTime

Delete History

Where

(SELECT (CONVERT (char(10), (substring date],1,10)), 101)) As @MyDate
Where @MyDate < (GetDate() -7)

/Code

I am getting all sorts of syntax errors here - any help gratefully received!

It was not clear to me from what you have done what your date field is called, so I have named it dtfld in the following example:

Code:
delete history
where convert(datetime, dtfld) < dateadd(d, -7, getdate())

Note that this deletes all records where the field dtfld is a date seven days or more in the past, from the exact time that the query is run. If you don't want time to be considered, then that is an exercise for you to work out ;-)

Thanks jby1, if only it was that easy!
The field on the table is called "date" (very unhelpful). If I try and do as you suggested (and I have tried before) I get "The conversion of a char data type to a datetime data type resulted in an out-of-range datetime value.". This is because (I think) the "date" field is a 50 character varchar field. I have tried to convert it using
\Code
"CONVERT (char(10), (substring([date],1,10)), 101
\Code