Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Simple Printing Question 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

thumpkidd9

Programmer
Mar 27, 2005
US
Hello,
I have always wondered this but finally had to implement something that needed it. I want to print values to the screen but with some kind of order. I'm using println() with '\t' character but its not lining up at all. I know there must be a better way to line up the data, which can be entered dynamically so I dont know the size of the space needed. I'm looking for something like this. Nothing too in depth but clean.

No. Price Paid

1. 20.00 30.00

Thanks,

The best way I've ever come up with (and I'm a real novice so there are bound to be better ways) is to use a Char array to place the individual items within, and then print the Char array.

So, I declare the array:
char[] ttl;

then I set its length (based on how may characters wide the whole display is to be):
ttl = new char[stln];

then, each time after I've printed it, I need to zero it out:
for (int i=0;i<stln;i++) {ttl=" ".charAt(0);}

then I put characters in the array from strings I want to display. For example, a string, title:
for (int j=0; j<title.length(); j++) {ttl[j+((i+1)*colwdth)]=title.charAt(j);}

In my case, I'm displaying the data in a TextArea, ta1:
ta1.append(new String(ttl)+"\n");

To answere sedj, I am printing strings to the screen, for example this is way off and depends on the length of dynamically entered values for price, paid..etc:

Code:
System.out.println("No. \tPrice \tPaid \tAddress \tDevelopment \tCash/Credit");

System.out.println((x+1)+". "+curr.price+"\t"+curr.paid+"\t"+curr.addr+"\t\t"+curr.dev+"\t\t"+curr.cacr);