Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

simple linux script

Status
Not open for further replies.

dustervoice

Technical User
Apr 2, 2009
GB
Im having an issue getting a script to run in my linux box. this is what i have done so far.

Ive created a simple script. echo "hello world" save it as hello ,chmod 755 . when i run the ./hello the script runs fine. so i want this script to run every one minute on the box so this is my entry in my crontab file...

01 * * * * root /home/myscripts/hello

for some reason this isnt working im log in as root. any ideas? im new to scripting.

Im also getting an email to root saying "environment variable not set"

Does your script have a shebang as the first line?
Code:
#!/bin/bash
If not, when cron runs it probably can't figure out the interpreter to run it with.

Yes it does. i also ran it ./hello and it works i also change

01 * * * * root /home/myscripts/hello to
* * * * * root /home/myscripts/hello

still no luck

Why do you have the word "root" in front of your command? What does that command do?

Try changing it to...
Code:
* * * * * /home/myscripts/hello > hello.log 2>&1
That will put the output into a file called "[tt]hello.log[/tt]".

If you don't redirect the output of the script to a file (like I showed), the output, including error messages, will be mailed to your account. Try looking in your email to see if you have errors from the previous runs.

SamBones, quite correct, though I would for clarity change the CRONTAB entry to:
Code:
* * * * * /home/myscripts/hello 1>hello.log 2>&1

and for clarity for the OP, 1 = STDOUT and 2 = STDERR, and the above will redirect STDERR to STDOUT (2>&1) which is redirected to hello.log (1>hello.log)...