Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Simple counter and delay

Status
Not open for further replies.

vix

Programmer
Mar 28, 2002
GB
Hi,
I have never used assembly language before, but I have to write some code for a microcontroller and am a bit stuck - if anyone could help i'd really appreciate it!

The basic problem is, first, I have to write two delays that will last 10 microseconds and 10 milliseconds respectively. (My controller is running at 4 MegaHertz) then, I have to create a counter that will count from when a bit is set to when the bit is not set, am not really sure how to do this. For the delays, I think I would need to use DECFSZ but i'm not certain. Can anyone help please?

Vix
vicky.a.roberts@lycos.com

What is the chip manufacturer etc? Although assembly is simular between chips there can be quite fundamental differences in how the same task is acheived.

Usually, if you go to the manufacturer's web site you can download techinical specifications including the machine code operations. Reading this will give you an idea of what functions the chip performs, also this may give you a new approch to problem solving.

I take it you have an assembler for your microcontroller? If not try a search on which is always a good source of technical info.

0000:0000:0000:0000h
The people who have nothing to say and say it too loud have little knowledge, It's the quiet ones you need to worry about!

Mitsubishi & Toshiba microcontrollers have these functions built in.