Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

show hide multiple divs

Status
Not open for further replies.

MCasey

Technical User
May 30, 2006
US
I'm trying to figure out how to change this code so that when someone clicks on a link for more information, all other divs are hidden. For example, if someone clicks on article 1's more information link...then click's on article 2's informaton link, I want the article1b div to automatically hide. Right now, the "close" link needs to be clicked on to hide it first. I like the close link, but is there a way this code can be changed so I can show one div and hide several others? (I'm just a beginner, so I might need thinks really explained.) Thank you!

Here is the code I have so far:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<script type="text/javascript">
function show( id ) {
document.getElementById(id).style.display = 'block';
}
function hide( id ) {
document.getElementById(id).style.display = 'none';
}
</script>
<style>
<!-- may fine tune, move to external stylesheet -->
.hidden {display:none;}
.articlelink {text-decoration: underline}
</style></head>

<body>
<p>Article 1 copy
<div onclick="show('article1b'); hide('articlelink1')" class="articlelink" id="articlelink1">more info</div></p>
<div id="article1b" class="hidden">
<p>The rest of article 1</p>
<div onclick="hide('article1b'); show ('articlelink1')" class="articlelink">
<p>close</p>
<br>
<br>
</div></div>
<p>Article 2 copy
<div onclick="show('article2b'); hide('articlelink2')" class="articlelink" id="articlelink2">more info</div></p>