Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Should I b able 2 use Linux as g'way for my netwk without xtra config

Status
Not open for further replies.

afgs

Technical User
Apr 19, 2002
GB
I have set up a server with SuSE Linux 8.0 Professional. But I am by no means a professional when it comes to Linux.

I have an ADSL business 500 plus with the standard BT black box router.
Here is my network config.

eth0 - 217.###.###.### (outside address)
eth1 - 151.128.1.253 (inside address)

Nameserver is the IP address of the BT router.

I can browse the internet from the server itself.
I can ping the server from anywhere on the Internet.

QUESTION - what do i have to do to be able to browse the internet from a pc on the same network using the Linux server and it's connection?

cat >/proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

to enable ip forwarding. have your clients use the linux box as a gateway. You do have a firewall, don't you? Check out

I will suggest you use iptable to do Network Address Translation (NAT), that way would be more secure and all of the internal workstation can share one valid Internet IP address.

You can find lots of documentation and examples scripts from Internet. Just do a simple search in google.com with keywork "Linux iptable sample".

Good luck!

Sunshine