Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Shares and privileges 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

lhatwwp

Technical User
Oct 23, 2007
US
Hello,

I will repeat this a few times for people who haven't seen my previous posts... I'm new to Windows; I've worked exclusively with Netware for the past fifteen years. So I have a number of questions.

Here I go... In Netware I created a folder, assigned privileges to a group, assigned users to the group and all the users in that group had access to the folder. At the domain level I assigned a logon script that applied to everyone in the OU. After creating the folder, group, and user(s), etc. I could check to see what effective rights a user had.

So my questions is... is the process similar in Windows? I have a test server running and so far it's been a struggle for me. I have created folders, groups, users, assigned privileges to the group, I created a vbs logon script (tested it, yep it maps drives), assigned the vbs script in the Group Policy. Went to the workstation, logged in and no mapped drives appeared. I can enter the path, so privileges seem ok.

BTW, do all Windows users have read access? I read that in a Windows environment all users have access to all files and the administrator has to remove privileges, kinda backward to what I'm used to with Netware.

I can't find anything in Windows that let's me check a users effective rights to a folder. Is there such a feature?

Anyway... if someone could give me a quick walk down on Windows file sharing, privileges, and logon scripting… that would be very helpful.

Thanks,
Lou

The process is pretty much the same in Windows.

Here's the process from the top.

Create a folder.