Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Shared Contacts. Need Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tecknogeek

Technical User
Mar 31, 2006
Hello,
I'm a newbie to exchange. I've installed Exchange 2003 and all seems to be running correctly except this shared contact problem.
Once you share contacts in exchange 2003 how do you use the contacts from that shared sorce in a new e-mail. The problem is when outlook is open and a new e-mail is started then you click on the (To:) to add a contact, Only problem is you cant add from the shared contacts. they don't show up. only ones there are my personal contacts.
On the other hand if I open the contacts tab in outlook and click the check box next to the shared contacts I can see them all day.
Any help is apperciated.......
Thanks,

In Outlook, right click the Public Folder holding the contacts, and click PROPERTIES. Go to the Outlook Address Book tab and check the box.

Pat Richard, MCSE MCSA:Messaging CNA
Microsoft Exchange MVP
Want to know how email works? Read for yourself -

58sniper,
I opened outlook on my computer. on the left i see my contacts and other contacts. The other contacts are the shared contacts I established by using the "open shared contacts"... link. What public folder are you describing? Or do I need to set up a public folder with those contacts and have everyone link back to them for one central contact list?
Thanks,

You need to create a NEW Public Folder, setting it to contain Contacts. Then do what I mentioned in my first post.

Microsoft Exchange MVP