Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Share Internet w/cisco router 1600

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 6, 2001
US
Hi all, I just builted a Win 2K Server in my home network and I want to share the internet using a Cisco 1600 router, I am new to this and need all the help that I can get, does anybody know where can I get white papers detailling how to do this?
By the way, I am sharing the internet righ now using the RRAS feature of Win 2k server but I want to know how to do this with the Cisco Router.
I a using a Cable modem.
Thanks for your advise.
It wasn't me, it was someone that looks a lot like me . . . .

Just set the clients up with the IP address of the router as their gateway address.

Chris.
Chris Andrew, CCNA, CCSA
chris@iproute.co.uk

What does the configuration on the Router looks like??

I dont think you get the 1600 working in this scenario, you need two ethernet ports on the router since your connecting to the internet via a cable modem.

eg,

Modem -> router -> switch/hub.

Your modem would connect into ethernet port 1 on the router and you switch/hub would connect into ethernet port 2. Data from you pc's would be routed between the two ports via a static route in the routers routing table.

The 1600 cannot be connected directly to the internet either, you still need the cable modem to terminate the internet link.

Linksys make a router with 4 ports that can be used to set this up. There router also can act as a dhcp server & firewall to your hosts.

Hi,

You must have a 1605 router (dual ethernet router) and the important parts of the config would look like this:

interface ethernet0
description -> Connection to Cable modem for Internet Access