Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

shaping text like ms wordart does? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdf246

Technical User
May 13, 2010
US
Im quite new to illustrator and Im trying to create some text that sorta appears to have been "pinched" in the middle.. kinda like in the shape of a bowtie.

I know I can get this shape using ms wordart and even paste it into illustrator but the edges are jagged and crappy looking. Isnt there a way I can use the type tool to type my word and then 'tweak' it into such a shape using some tools in illustrator????

Please help!

Hi

Hey I never tried that.

I just did a test in Word and pasted it into Illustrator and it comes in as a vector graphic.
All I did was create the type in Word copy it and then paste it into Illustrator.
It has clean edges and is editable.

The only thing I noticed was that when I applied an outline I got a strange triple line.
For some reason there was a black line running through the center of the outline.

I turned the page in Word to landscape and set the type in 72 point so it was as big as I could make it on one line.

I haven't use Word Art in years but now that I know I can get it out of Word and into Illustrator I may give it a try.

Mike

Yes, I realized that when I pasted it into illus from msword, the edges are actually fine..