Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

setting up workstation running win2000 pro 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

qmann

IS-IT--Management
May 2, 2003
CA
i am very new to networking so you're going to have to bear with me.

I have a workstation that i want to hook up to the network. The setup is as follows.. two servers in the back, one i believe as the main server (called nt_server) and the other i think is a bdc (called fileserver).

my domain name is DOMAIN
Now i've set everything up.. i have the printers working under the myself and the user.. i have him connecting to the domain and to the workgroup (don't know if this is the right terminology) nt_server. Within nt_server he can gain access to mapped drives.. M:Mechanical etc., What i can't get him to do is access fileserver. This has other mapped drives on it such as E: Electrical etc. What have i not done.. Please be patient with me... remember i'm new to networking.

thanks for your help in advance

Q

What OSs are you running on the servers? Sounds like NT 4 Server if you have a BDC.

yes, sorry it's nt4 server sp6 .. and they are not workgroups they are in they are clients... starting to get the terminology

can you ping the file server? if so, check the shares on that server, look at share permissions, and NTFS permissions...

i've pinged and i can ping the servers... can you walk me through looking up shares and sharepermissions?