Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Setting Up User Privilege For Public Computers

Status
Not open for further replies.

SoulM4t3

IS-IT--Management
Oct 23, 2002
GB
Hi all,
I need help with setting up user privileges on Windows2000 Professional. I have never used Windows2000 before or even NT, so its like a new experience with me.

I am helping to set up a public access computerlab in a hostel. I have installed several softwares and all are working fine, but then I install games. Most of the games work when running as Restricted User, except for CounterStrike and 1 or 2 other programs. They won't start as Restricted User. But when I select Login As Power User or Administrator, it works fine.

But I don't want to give the users that much privileges as I don't want them screwing with the system setting.

Is there a workaround to this? Can I create a new user group to run legacy apps? Any help is appreciated and please be as detailed as possible as I really am new to Window2000 Professional and I have no say in the OS selections.

Thanks in advanced!

You can change permissions on individual applications to suit what users you want to be able to run them. Here's how:

First, login as an administrator and find the directory where the program(s) you want to set permissions on are located. Most likely this path will be: MyComputer\C Drive\Program Files. There will probably be a folder for each program. If you have trouble finding the program, use Find to search for it.