Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Setting Up Terminal Services

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxxam

Technical User
Jun 13, 2003
US
I am new to W2000 and I'm attempting to setup Terminal Services. So far I've installed the options from CD, rebooted, created Client diskettes and attempted to create a new connection on my W2k server by using "Terminal Services Connection Wizzard".

I am having the following problems occour and I need some input.

1: When running the wizzard I get an error when "Setting up the transport type" I am entering the following in the (3) field 1: Name=Test, 2: Transport Type=TCP, 3: Comments=Test

When I select next, I get a Network Adapter option which allows me to select 1: All Network Adapters configured with this protocol (which I believe is OK since I only have one adapter)

The error I receive from the Terminal Services Configuration is "The new connection must have a unique connection type or network adapter". Does this mean I need to install and setup a unique (separate) adapter to run TS? Any suggestions on what's going on there?

Also, when setting up a TS client on my PC I cannot log in to the W2k server. The reason for this is probably due to the errors described above but I'm not certain. I was able to run TS from the client and see the host signon screen but I was not able to log in to the server. It continues to ask me for a Domain name but I do not use W2k with a Domanin name but rather it was setup as a "workgroup" server.

Any help or input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Maxxam