Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Setting up Development Environment Problems 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

LonnieJohnson

Programmer
Apr 16, 2001
US
I am brand new to SharePoint. I had my IT team to set me up a box to inatall the development environment so I could play around with SharePoint. I went through the Intall Wizard and when I get to the end I cannot get the Admin Webpage to load.

What could I have done wrong?

Any help would be wonderful. Thanks.

ProDev, Builders of Affordable Software Applications
Visit me at ==>
May God bless you beyond your imagination!!!

Thanks for replying. Yes it is SharePoint 2010.

1. Ran PrerequisiteInstaller.exe to initialize the system prior to installing SharePoint services.
2. Ran setup.exe on the CD to set up the SharePoint server.
3. Ran SharePoint configuration wizard (setup.exe on the Installation CD).
4. After configuration wizard ended the SharePoint website would not come up. Believe the issue may be with a SQL Server 2008 KB 970315 x64 installation that needs to happen during the configuration.

Visit me at ==>

Does Central Administration come up?
---You can find the link in the Start menu.

Are the SharePoint Services running?
---Server Manager --> Configuration --> Services

Any of the accounts used by SharePoint locked?

Thanks ehaze, I will check that now.

Visit me at ==>

@ehaze

No, Central Administration does not come up. The URL is and I get a message of "Inernet Explorer cannot display the webpage".

Under Configuartion Services I see...

SharePoint 2010 Administration
SharePoint 2010 Timer
SharePoint 2010 Tracing
SharePoint 2010 User Code Host
SharePoint 2010 VSS Writer
SharePoint 2010 Foundation Search V4