Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Setting up a VLAN on a Cisco Catalyst 3560G

Status
Not open for further replies.

RegTellis

MIS
Jul 10, 2006
US
Okay. I am TOTALLY lost here trying to set up a VLAN. Admittedly, this is my first attempt at this. What has prompted this is that I am bringing my networks first SAN online and I have been told by the technician that is helping me configure it remotely that I need to set up a VLAN to connect the 4 ISCSI I.P. addresses to. The only problem with that is, I have NO real idea how to do that on a Cisco 3560. My normal internal network operates on x.x.212.x and I need to create a VLAN that corresponds to x.x.214.x as that is the I.P. and netmask that we have agreed upon that the ISCSI nics will operate on. I have been able to successfully create an additional VLAN via Telnet and have even verified that created VLAN exists with the Cisco Network Assistant software, so I am fairly confident that I have created the VLAN and I assumed somewhere in there I needed to give the new VLAN an I.P. address corresponding to the x.x.214.x range that the ISCSI nics will operate on, to that end, I did find a place that allowed me to give my newly created VLAN an I.P. address entry, which I then gave it an I.P. address of x.x.214.9 with a subnet of 255.255.255.0 to correspond with my existing LAN subnet, but I am stuck from that point. All I know for sure is that I DEFINITELY can't ping any address of the .214 from my LAN .212 or vice versa. If anybody out there has any experience with this or by extension how this i supposed to work with a SAN, please PLEASE drop me a line...or a dozen..:)