Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Setting Up a SQL Database

Status
Not open for further replies.

hartbros

IS-IT--Management
Feb 20, 2003
US
I am brand new to SQL I have been programming in Access for about 5 years off and on and the problem is my database is very slow so that is why I am changing over to SQL, anyway I have imported into SLQ from an access file how do I go about setting up my client machines to run the database any help would be great thanks again in advance

hi
first of all tell me whether your client system having Sql Server or not ? and which front end application is using at client system ?

Good Luck
Gopala Krishna Kakani

Sorry, the databse is writen in access o up to now I have not changed it, should I split the databse first?, and I want to set it up w/ speed in mind

hartbros,

I think we need more information before we can answer.

What are you trying to acheive? Do you want an application to access the data? Or do you need an end-user to access it?

Mark

I want the end user to access the data.

Hi , Before answering i am just assuming that
you Have Installed SqlServer in your System and as well as
your client System before this You had MS Access.

So in your client system you have to register your system name in the enterprise manager , so that he can directly open and use the table which you are having.
Another way is just create one front end application in VB according to client Specification , so that client can
access the data . for this you need to client version of sqlserver in that client system.

Good Luck
Gopala Krishna Kakani