Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Setting up a network

Status
Not open for further replies.

jshurst

Programmer
Oct 27, 2004
US
I am very new to networking, but I will do my best to explain what I am trying to do. I currently have a wireless network in my house (infrastructure mode). We have one computer directly connected to the router (my roomates computer) and various laptops, and PC's. I just built a computer which runs server 2003 that is sitting in the corner of my house which also has a wireless connection.

I would like to use this new PC as a place to store files. I would also like other computers in my house to be able to connect to this and run applications. Can someone tell me the steps I need to do to make this happen? I am not asking for you to tell me exactly how to do it, just what I need to do so I can look it up on google (cause I'm kind of lost at the moment). Thanks in advance for the help.

First, make sure that the other computers on the network can see the server. this can be done by pinging the ip address of the server. It may help to set the workgroup name the same on all of the computers and server but shouldn't have to.

Second, Since I doubt all of the computers are part of a domain, set up another user account (on the server) with user priveleges only. You can have all the computers connect to the server with the same account or set up one for each user.