Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Setting up 10-10-323 LD service 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knutsaq

IS-IT--Management
May 28, 2001
CA
Ok,

I'm new to the Definity system, but I'm picking it up very quickly (at least I think I am).

Our Long Distance (LD) carrier (World XChange Communications) went down yesterday, leaving us in a real bad situation. In order to get up and running ASAP, our new carrier gave us an access code to get LD service immediately. But, when I dial the code, I get an error (or what I'm assuming is an error) beeping on the line and nothing happens.

I've changed the ars analysis for 1010323 to accept 18 digits and tried the same call routing as local, LD, Toll-free and others, but nothing works.

Any ideas?
Knutsaq

You are dialing "9" first right?
;) Just making sure...

You can dial local, just no Long-Distance numbers?
Make sure in the ARS table that those numbers are fnpa call types. Also try passing/not passing a "1" to your service provider.

Yeah, I'm dialing the 9.

Local service is fine. That's all through Bell. Even some Canadian long distance is ok. We've got nothing to the US though. Even our 800 line is dead. What a day.

After further discussion with Bell Canada, apparently the 1010323 number will never work due to our system. Whether that's a load of crap or not, I don't know.

I do find it funny that a third party calling card will work fine though. Right now, that's the only way we're getting any business done. I shudder to think of what the bill might be. Especially if Bell takes the week to get us up and running that they say it will.

Thanks though.
Knutsaq.