Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Set Theory for beginning database developers? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

hapax

Programmer
Nov 10, 2006
US
Can you recommend a good book or article that will give me a conceptual understanding of what I'm doing when I write SQL joins, etc? Something written at a beginner level would help me the most.

I'm a junior developer and I'd like to understand more of the overall concepts or theory behind what I'm doing when I write SQL joins, etc. Is mathematical Set Theory what I'm looking for?

Basically yes. If you consider the results of a SELECT statement as "the set of results that match the criteria I have specified" rather than "the results I have answered" it becomes easier to understand IMHO.
Remember that if there happen to be no results that match your criteria, this is not an error from the perspective of the database (although it may be from an application that uses the database).

John

Not sure what you are asking... but if your desire is to learn the intricate nature of how SQL Joins are constructed and optimized, then refer to "relational algebra sql". I had this in a Master Program at Penn State. It can get very very complicated to understand. There are tons of sources on the I*Net.

But, unless you really plan to be a DBA or really work to optimize large data set queries, this information is a little too much. Personally, as a SQL Server developer, I never expect to use the relational algebra information... but it is nice to know I guess.

This looked like a good overview of relational algebra:
Good luck...

Steve Medvid
IT Consultant & Web Master

Chester County, PA Residents
Please Show Your Support...