Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

set datasource name in CFC or CFC how to read the application.cfm 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

waquindev

Programmer
Nov 21, 2010
US
Hi,

Im new to CFC (coldfusion components), one thing I noticed is that it doesn't read my application.cfm.
So in my cfc file, i still have to set my datasourcename.

Normally Im used to set my DSN in one application file(application.cfm) so I dont have to set DSN on other pages or files..

Please help me on this, I wanted my cfc file as dynamic as possible and dont have to hardcode all over again my DSN.

Please see code below, notice that I have to re-set my DSN on my application.

Many thanks in advance.
Code:
<cfcomponent>

[b]<cfset DSN = "msmdevTestDB">[/b]

<cffunction name="addEmp" displayname="Add Employee" returntype="any">
	<cfargument name="first_name" type="string" required="yes" default="#form.first_name#">
	<cfargument name="last_name" type="any" required="yes" default="#form.lastname#" >
	<cfargument name="address" type="variablename" required="yes" default="#form.addressnew#">

<cfquery name="addRecordEmp" datasource="[b]#DSN#[/b]">
			insert into EMPLOYEE (first_name,last_name,address)
			values('#arguments.first_name#','#arguments.last_name#','#arguments.address#')		
	</cfquery>

<cfreturn true>

</cffunction>

</cfcomponent>

Components are not supposed to read your Application.cfm/cfc file. Typically you inject whatever values are needed into the component when it is created. The component then stores those values in its variables scope for use by its functions.