Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Server Rack Temperature - Placement - Etc

Status
Not open for further replies.

bence8810

IS-IT--Management
Jul 20, 2005
AE
Hi All,

I am sure this isnt the appropriate place to post this, but I found nothing better for my question.

I am new to Racks, and I am tasked to move one of our office's servers in a rack.

The problem is that in this office the servers are in a common area, where people walk by, etc. The servers were just below a desk, and they got really dusty all the time, etc.

We purchased a rack, a 42U high one with 800x960 dimensions. All the 4 servers, switches, monitor and other minor equipment fit nicely.

The rooms temperature is controlled by an air-conditioner, and is constantly at 20celsius, however as the rack is closed, the temperature inside goes to 30-32celsius. It has a fan on the top, with a temp-sensor, and I set it to start spinning at 25Celsius, which means its constantly spinning, as the temperature is above that.

What shall I do? If I open the cabinet, the temperature will drop, but again, It will start to dust up, etc.

Thanks, any suggestions are welcome,

Ben

Computer equipment in general are big dust inhalers and usually the only thing you can do to stop this is to make sure that your environment is not dusty.

A temperature controlled air conditioned room should not contain that much dust that the computer equipment gets clogged up possibly leading to hardware failure. Most new racks do not have solid doors, they are usually covered in vent holes to allow the air to circulate (and vent holes are usually in the roof of the rack as well)

--------------------------------------
"Insert funny comment in here!"