Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

sending emails from vfp appication

Status
Not open for further replies.

T883

Programmer
Nov 2, 2016
US
I've been sending emails with pdf's attached for over 3 years using gmail - till last week they just stopped working. After researching other people's comments I switched to Yahoo email and it worked for 2 days and now it no longer works. I've been using the "cdo2000" code for years. Is there another or better way?? This is basically my current program: I keep getting error 1429 along with either 187 or 191

thanks for any help and/or guidance!

Code:
FUNCTION send_email
loMail = NEWOBJECT("Cdo2000", "Cdo2000.fxp")
WITH loMail
   .nServerPort	= 465
   .lUseSSL	= .T.
   .nAuthenticate	= 1

.cServer   = "smtp.mail.yahoo.com"
   .cUserName = "username@yahoo.com"
   .cPassword = "17digitpassword"
   .cFrom     = "username@yahoo.com"
   .cTo       = "recipient@whatever.com" 
   .cSubject  = "statement"
   .cAttachment = SYS(5)+CURDIR()+'pdfs\'+ALLTRIM(pdf_name)
ENDWITH

IF loMail.Send() > 0
  FOR i=1 TO loMail.GetErrorCount()
          ? i, loMail.Geterror(i)
  ENDFOR
ENDIF
  loMail.ClearErrors()
RETURN

Could it be they, Gmail and now Yahoo, think you are sending spam and are blacklisting you?

Regards

Griff
Keep [Smile]ing

There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don't.

I'm trying to cut down on the use of shrieks (exclamation marks), I'm told they are !good for you.