Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Selecting data with criteria from 3 or 4 tables 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

RaceStats

IS-IT--Management
Nov 10, 2006
US
I am new to SQL and need help with some complicated transactions. Using an Access DB and writing the code in VB6, I am creating a Racing Stats Program. The current 2 queries that I am trying to figure out gather driver stats for a selected track or track type. The tables involved and contents are:

Results - DriverID, EventID, Points
Drivers - DriverID, DriverFullName
Events - EventID, TrackID
Tracks - TrackID, TrackTypeID
TrackType - TrackTypeID, TrackID

In the first query I want to select all of the results per driver for the selected TrackID. The Results table does not contain the TrackID. It is located in the Events table which is reference by the EventID in the Results. My current code follows (which errors out): FYI - I have working queries that are similar to below but most of the data is contained in the Results table.

strSQL = "SELECT Drivers.DriverFullName, SUM(Results.ResultPoints), "
strSQL = strSQL & "AVG(Results.ResultPoints), AVG(Results.ResultStart), "
strSQL = strSQL & "AVG(Results.ResultFinish), SUM(ResultLapsComp), "
strSQL = strSQL & "SUM(ResultWinnings), SUM(ResultAdjustment) "
strSQL = strSQL & "FROM Results, Drivers "
strSQL = strSQL & "WHERE Results.DriverID = Drivers.DriverID AND "
strSQL = strSQL & "Year(Results.ResultDate) > " & CStr(cmbYear) & " AND "
strSQL = strSQL & "Events.TrackID = " & CStr(iTrackID) & " "
strSQL = strSQL & "GROUP BY Drivers.DriverFullName"