Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

select rights for package

Status
Not open for further replies.

VBmim

Programmer
Jun 25, 2001
BE
Hello,

I am fairly new to pl/sql programming and I have a problem...

I have a simple procedure which I want to create. It would have to go through all the check constraints and rename them to something more readable than SYS_00999;

I have already come this far:
Code:
create or replace procedure RENAME_CHECKS is
begin
   execute immediate 'create global temporary table TMP on commit delete rows as  select t.* from sys.dba_cons_columns t where owner = ''OWNER'' and constraint_name in (select constraint_name from SYS.all_constraints where owner = ''OWNER'' and constraint_type = ''C'')';

execute immediate 'drop table TMP';   

end RENAME_CHECKS;

The problem is that when I want to execute this procedure I get the error 'table or view does not exist'. The oracle user which creates the procedure has a 'select any table' grant and I also get the results I want when I run the query on itself.

What am I doing wrong here?

Greetz,

OraMim

You cannot create and use a table within the same procedure. [3eyes]

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

I do not understand what you are trying to tell me...

I am trying to get my check constraint information in a temporary table, which later I will run through to find appropriate names and then rename the constraints as such...

If this is not the way to do it, could you advise me another better way?

Greets,

OraMim

Create the temporary table (outside the procedure).