Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Segments/Offsets 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dilenger4

Programmer
Nov 28, 2001
US
First off i just want to say hi to everybody! Im a Java/Visual Basic programmer of 3 years and a always wanted to learn assembly, but im having alittle trouble understanding segments and offsets.

At the bottom is a piece of a simple Hello World prog using a86 compiler.

The way segments and offsets were explained to me was with this formula.

;OFFSET = SEGMENT * 16
;SEGMENT = OFFSET / 16 (the lower 4 bits are lost)

From what i can gather the total number of bits with the
segment and offset combined is always 20, the Message can never be more than 2 word size(32 bits) or an error occures.

So question number one: Does the segment hold 16 bits and the offset hold 4?

Question number two: If i program with 32 bit registers can
i forgo using segments and offsets or are they always used?

Thanks for the help!:)

Message db "Yummy Ham!$" ; message to be display
mov dx,OFFSET Message ; offset of Message is in DX
mov ax,SEG Message ; segment of Message is in AX
mov ds,ax ; move segment of Message into a segment reg

First answer: In 16-bit programming (or even if using 32-bit registers in a 16-bit Real mode), BOTH the OFFSET and the SEGMENT are 16-bits.
What happens is that the segment is multiplied by 10h (16) and THEN the offset is added.
In 32-bit mode programming (available only in Protected Mode) the offset is 32-bits while the Segment is only a handle to the memory section it refers to, this gets pretty complicated... some OS's however make all segments start at absolute 00000000h, so that you can pretty much ignore segments.