Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

seek()

Status
Not open for further replies.

youradds

Programmer
Jun 27, 2001
GB
Ok, so im new to the seek command. Can someone please tell me though why the following command keep putting new data to the end of the file, but NOT at the beginninag as it should do?

The code is;

open(LIST, ">>southeast.list") || die &error("Unable to open file. Reason: $!");
flock(LIST, 2);
seek(LIST,0,0);
print LIST "$town\:\:\:$return\:\:\:$vehicle\:\:\:$mobile\:\:\:$hour\:\:\:$mins\n";
flock(LIST, 8);
close(LIST);

Thanks

Andy

After trying several options, I must admit that I coudn't
find the reason for it not working as it should.
The only thing that might help is - only in case the
file is relatively small - reading all the file contents
into an array (@lines = <FILE>), writing the required data
while file is open for rewrite (>) and then dumping the
array back to the original file while the file is opened
for append - a bit clumsy and not at all performance-oriented, but yet...

Regarding the original problem - maybe seek()
is not supposed to be used on text files ? Jean Spector
QA Engineer @ mSAFE Ltd.

I'm almost sure seek() is supposed to be used with read/write functions and not print() ... Jean Spector
QA Engineer @ mSAFE Ltd.

Ok. Thanks for trying. How do you reverse the contents of an array? That way it should be easier to reput them all in :)

Andy

Reversing an array is easy:

Code:
@reversed = reverse @array;

As for the seek problem, you are opening your file for appending (>>), so I'm not sure the seek is doing anything at all. Try opening the file for read/write (+>) and see if that helps. Tracy Dryden
tracy@bydisn.com