Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Security feature

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdjconsulting

Technical User
Jan 10, 2001
US
I have a database that is operated from a form called "main menu." I'd like to keep people out of the access portion (only have access to the main menu and sub-forms, etc.) and then have the main menu inaccessible after 30 days. I have zero VB skills - basically self taught up to this point.

You can compile and make an MDE. Make sure your Mainform is your startup from. There are many other threads on this particular subject. You may want to try a FAQ or a key word search for that subject.

In brief, an MDE is like an EXE, but not. An MDE protects your source code and "under the hood" items from the curiosity of users.

Got through the MDE step. Thanks! Any thoughts on the "make the app unusable after 30 days" feature?

In the most general sense, I do this by having the installation process create a registy key. the key name is selected to be somewhat obscure and the key valus is the installation date (encrypted). When the App is started, it checks for the key. If it is not found, it creates it and fills in the value. It it is found, it decrypts it and compares it to the current date - 1 month. If the installation date is > the current date - 1 month - exit, else go ahead an run.

It is simplistic. It can be 'broken'. It will keep honest john from a life of crime. It will not slow down a determined hacker enough to even waste the time to do it redundantly. Variations on the theme are more or less endless.

MichaelRed
redmsp@erols.com

There is never time to do it right but there is always time to do it over

Yikes!

TO: Michael,