Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Security Consulting for the small business (long question)

Status
Not open for further replies.

techwriter56

Technical User
Mar 26, 2002
US
Hello,
I am an unemployed programmer who actually does not want to
program anymore. What I am doing is redefining my technical
background and see what I can actually do in the IT depression we are having.
In my search I ran into a company called Invisus. They are
about a year old and have a small/mid comany solutions for
security.
KNowing enough about security in my past 20 years in IT I know that firewalls are typically hardware albeit a number
of companies do have software solutions for FW.
Is this company for real ? They have no reference or any outside endorsment on the web-site. Not even an address.
The second question is about some sort of Anti Hacking kit(they also propmote).
This will stealth your ports and find any worms or viruses
that may be attached to a given port. (now I am getting into areas I know squat about)
How can you attach any piece of software to a port to wait
for it to open? Who else makes this Anti Hacker Kits
I somehow never heard about this..
Does anyone know about this company ? They gave a web-site.

i have no idea about the company...
regarding "anti hacking", nessus is a very popular opensource security scanner, so as a programmer, you can see what it is doing, or even read faq's about it. (