Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Second try: Jobs in VB? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jer

Programmer
Jun 23, 2000
US
I tried this yesterday, evidently on the wrong forum:<br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;I am a former programmer(Basic, Cobol), now self-studying VB. I love it and am picking it up quickly. Although I eventually want to be an MCSD, I would like to be able to get work as a VB programmer as soon as possible, before going through the whole MCSD learning and testing process. However, I have been out of the loop for so long, I don't even know what jobs, if any, are available. At this point, I would probably be considered entry-level, although I was a pretty good programmer in my time.<br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Can anyone help me with advice about what is available, and how to get involved? Thanks -- Jerry

you can use VB as part of your MCSD , Visual basic will serve as a very beneficial role in colaboration with another language, for example, using VB to write the ActiveX with Web Programming, or using VB to make the front end for a VC++ dlls, so forth. But also known quite a few people who get by with just VB. <p>Karl<br><a href=mailto:kb244@kb244.8m.com>kb244@kb244.8m.com</a><br><a href= </a><br>Experienced in , or have messed with : VC++, Borland C++ Builder, VJ++6(starting),VB-Dos, VB1 thru VB6, Delphi 3 pro, Borland C++ 3(DOS), Borland C++ 4.5, HTML,Visual InterDev 6, ASP(WebProgramming), QBasic(least i didnt start with COBOL)